Mayo Lester Community Service Award

The Mayo Lester Community Service Award was the first annual program established by the Chamber of Commerce. Given annually to an individual who has excelled in community service to Putnam County, the award was named after one of the Chamber’s founding members and first Chairman, the late Mayo Lester.

To receive the award an individual’s personal attributes and contributions to the community may include, but not be limited to: (1) Personal involvement in county-wide or local civic improvement projects. (2) Active participation in community organizations. (3) Support of a community project(s) and/or organization(s). Support may include personal involvement or financial contribution, but not necessarily membership in a particular organization. (4) An example of what a citizen and community leader should be in donating time, energy and personal resources for the betterment of their community. (5) Showing some degree of personal sacrifice for an organization or toward the accomplishment of a community project.

Past Recipients:

1979 Mayo Lester

1980 Paul Jackson

1981 David Hofstetter

1982 Leff Moore

1983 Sally Holliday

1984 Bill G. Deel

1985 J.A. McClanahan

1986 Florence Sprouse

1987 Irene Ghiz

1988 Dr. Roy Alford

1989 Jack Kessler

1990 Laeuna Erwin

1991 Frank Addington, Jr.

1992 Robert O’Dell

1993 Ernest Page

1994 Raymond Peak

1995 Gayle Vest

1996 Pat & Lovell McDonald

1997 Karen Lilly

1998 Bobbie Hill

1999 Frank Gritt, Jr.

2000 Steve & Diane Parks

2001 Martha Cook Carter

2002 Leff Moore

2003 Greg Eiler & Sally Blessing

2004 Wayne Bennett

2005 Tim & Melissa Meeks

2006 Oshel Craigo

2007 Jacquelin Chaney

2008 Karen Haynes

2009 John Wilson, Jr.

2010 Glen Yeager

2011 Jim Caruthers

2012 Debbie Phillips

2013 O.C. “Hobby” Spaulding

2014 Jack Wilson

2015 Roger Randolph

2016 Nathan Wills

2017 Glenn Yeager

2018 Joe Haynes

2019 John Chapman

2020 Grace Randolph

2021 Dr. Sam Sentelle